People + email

Social networking on my phone FAQ

  • If you already have a Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn account, you can set it up on your phone to share messages, pictures, and even import your social network friends as contacts on your phone. For more information, see Set up a Facebook account or Set up a Twitter or LinkedIn account.

    You can also download the Facebook and Twitter apps from the Windows Phone Store. To learn how, see Get apps from the Store.

    If you're brand-new to social networking, you can create new accounts on the Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn websites, then set up the accounts on your phone.

  • After you set up your accounts, your social networking info becomes available in a number of places on your phone. The most common places to access your info are the People Hub, the Photos Hub, the Me Card, and room or group Tiles.

    You can see your friends' recent messages in the People Hub.

    • On Start Start button, tap People People tile, and then do one of the following:

      • Flick left or right to What's new to see recent posts from your friends. To see updates from one social network at a time, tap All accounts, and then tap the service you want to see.
      • Flick left or right to All to see all your contacts from the social networks and email accounts you've set up on your phone. Tap a contact and then flick to What's new to see the person's social posts.
      • Flick left or right to Together, and then tap a group or room to see what's new with the members.

    You can also check out your friends' recent pictures in the Photos Hub.

    • On Start Start button, tap Photos Photos icon, and then do one of the following:

      • Flick left or right to What's new to see the photos your friends have recently uploaded.
      • Tap People, and then tap Choose contact to choose someone from your contact list and see their photos.

    On the Me Card, you'll see the latest posts to your Facebook Wall, along with other social networking info that's directly related to you. You can also use the Me Card to post messages, check in, and set your chat status.

    If you pin a room or group to Start, you'll see recent posts from the members on the Live Tiles. Tap the Tile to get to the details.

  • Yes. Here are some of the things you can do:

    • Post an update – Use the Me Card to update your status on Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn.
    • Like or comment on a friend's post – Go to People > What's new to see your friends' latest posts, then tap Comment icon or Comment icon next to a post to weigh in.
    • "Retweet" a Twitter update – Tap Retweet Retweet icon next to a post to pass it on to your followers.
    • Share a photo to any of your social networks – Snap a photo, and then tap Back Back button to view the photo (or tap a photo in your Camera Roll). Tap MoreMore icon > Share to tweet it or to post it on Facebook or LinkedIn.
    • Upload a video to Facebook – Take a video, and then tap Back Back button to view the video (or tap a video in your Camera Roll). Tap More More icon > Share to upload it to Facebook.
    • Change your Facebook or Microsoft account profile picture – On the Me Card, tap your profile pic, then tap it again to choose or take a new photo. (You can't change your Twitter or LinkedIn profile pictures from your phone.)
  • By default, friends from the social networking accounts you've set up on your phone appear in your contact list. If the list is getting too long, you can filter it so that only contacts from the social networks you choose will appear. You'll still be able to find the filtered contacts using search.

    1. In the App list, tap Settings Settings icon.

    2. Flick left to Applications, and then tap People.

    3. Tap Filter my contact list, and then tap the accounts you want to show contacts from.

    4. Tap Done Done icon.

  • Yes. One way is to hide updates from the contacts you've filtered from your contact list.

    1. In the App list, tap Settings Settings icon.

    2. Flick left to Applications, and then tap People.

    3. Select the Hide posts from the contacts I've filtered check box.

    If you're seeing your Facebook friends' notifications on your Me Card, it usually means you've turned on notifications for your Close Friends list in Facebook's settings. To stop seeing Facebook friends' activity on the Me card:

    1. On your computer, sign in to Facebook.

    2. In the left pane, under Lists, click Close Friends.

    3. In the upper-right corner of the screen, click the Notifications drop-down, and then click Off.

  • To remove all the info from a social network from your phone, including all your friends and social updates, do the following:

    1. In the App list, tap Settings Settings icon.

    2. Tap Email + accounts, tap and hold the account you want to remove, tap Delete, and then tap Delete again.

    To remove an individual Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn contact from your phone completely, you'll need to remove your connection with that person on the Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn website.

  • By default, your Twitter friends are filtered from your contact list, but you can change this:

    1. In the App list, tap Settings Settings icon.

    2. Flick left to Applications, and then tap People.

    3. Tap Filter my contact list, and make sure Twitter is selected.

    4. Tap DoneDone icon.

  • If you change the password for a social networking account on your computer, you'll need to update it on your phone as well.

    1. In the App list, tap Settings Settings icon, flick left to Applications, and then tap People.

    2. Tap the social network you want to update, and then follow the on-screen instructions to change the password.

Tell us what you think