People

Rooms end of support FAQ

After March, 2015, Rooms on Windows Phone is longer supported.

  • If you're using Windows Phone 8 or 8.1 – You'll still see your existing rooms and be able to view and use your room photo albums, calendars, and notes on your phone. But, you won't be able to create new rooms or make membership or permissions changes to existing rooms. You'll still see your old room chats, but you and the other room members won't be able to send or receive any new room chat messages.

    If you update to Windows 10 – Rooms will no longer show up on your phone. You'll be able to get to your photo albums, calendars, and notes in a couple of different ways—either on the web or through other apps on your phone.

    When you update to Windows 10, your chat history will be removed, and you won't be able to get to it on your phone or on the web. Before updating your phone, make a copy of any information in your chat history you want to keep.

  • On your phone:

    • Open the Calendar app to see all the calendar events from your rooms on your phone.
    • To see your photos and videos, open the OneDrive app. You'll find your photos and videos in a folder with the same name as your room.
    • To see your room notes, open the OneNote app. You'll find your notes in a notebook with the same name as your room.

    On the web:

    • To see your calendar events, visit calendar.live.com and sign in with the same Microsoft account you use on your phone.
    • To see your photos and videos, visit onedrive.live.com and sign in with the same Microsoft account you use on your phone. You'll find your photos and videos in a folder with the name of your room.
    • To see your room notes, visit onenote.live.com and sign in with the same Microsoft account you use on your phone. You'll find your notes in a notebook with the same name as your room.
  • After updating, you'll no longer be able to see your chat history either on your phone or on the web. Before updating, make a copy of any info you want to keep.

  • No. You'll still be able to use Groups after support ends for Rooms.

Tell us what you think