Basics

Reset my phone

Resetting your phone will return it to the same state it was in the first time you turned it on. All your personal content, including media, text messages, and apps you've downloaded, will be erased, and the phone will be restored to its factory settings.

If you decide to reset your phone, you can back up apps, text messages, photos, and more to your Microsoft account in the cloud beforehand. To learn more about how this works, see Back up my stuff.

Warning

Be careful. Resetting your phone will erase all content stored on your phone, including apps and games (along with app data and game progress), text messages, call history, music, photos, and more. To learn about some other things you can try first, see Your Windows Phone 8 doesn't work or respond as expected.

To reset your phone

  1. In the App list, tap SettingsSettings tile.

  2. Tap About, and then tap Reset your phone.

  3. You'll receive two warnings. If you're absolutely sure you want to restore your phone to its factory settings, tap Yes, and then tap Yes again.

    It might take a little while for the process to complete.

Note

If you lose your phone, it's possible to reset it remotely. To learn how, see Find a lost phone.

Tell us what you think