People

Use Rooms and Groups

Rooms and Groups in Windows Phone cut through contact clutter so you can stay in touch with the people who matter most—family, friends from the neighborhood, your book club. Use Rooms to share things and chat with the folks you invite. Or add people to Groups to stay current with their social updates, or message them all at once.

Rooms

Rooms are an invitation-only place on your phone—and on the phones of the other members—where you can share a private calendar, photos, videos, and notes, and start a group chat. When you invite someone to a room, they'll receive a text message with a link to join.

Your phone comes with a preloaded Family Room to get you started. You can also create new rooms from scratch.

Notes

  • When a contact joins a room you own or a room you're a member of, you'll become Messenger friends with them. For more information, see Rooms and Groups FAQ.
  • In a new room, you can use the calendar, notes, and photo album right away, but you can't chat until someone else joins.

To set up the Family Room on a new phone

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon.

  2. Swipe over to Rooms and Groups, and then tap Family Room.

  3. Tap Invite someone, and then find the person you want to invite in the contact list. You'll only see contacts that have mobile phone numbers listed.

  4. Tap your contact's name, and if you see a list of phone numbers, tap Mobile phone.

  5. Tap Send. Your contact will get a text message inviting them to join the room. When they join, the room will be set up on their phone.

  6. When you're finished inviting people, tap Done Done icon.

Rooms image

To create a new Room

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon, and then swipe over to Rooms and Groups .

  2. Tap New New icon, and then tap Room.

  3. Type a name for your room, and then tap Save Save icon.

  4. To invite someone to your new room, tap Invite Invite icon, and then find the person you want to invite in the contact list. You'll only see contacts that have mobile phone numbers listed.

  5. Tap your contact's name, and if you see a list of phone numbers, tap Mobile phone.

  6. Tap Send. Your contact will get a text message inviting them to join the room. When they join, the room will be set up on their phone.

  7. When you're finished inviting people, tap Done Done icon.

To use Rooms

All of the members of a room can add photos and videos, add and change calendar appointments, send group chat messages, add and edit notes, and change the room background.

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon, and then swipe over to Rooms and Groups.

  2. Tap the room you want to use, and then do any of the following:

    • To start or participate in a group chat, swipe over to Chat. Type your message in the text box, and then tap Send Send icon. To include your location, tap Location Location icon.
    • To view the room calendar, swipe over to Calendar. Tap an appointment to view details or make changes, or tap Today Today icon or Month Month icon for different views. To add a new event, tap New New icon.
    • To see pictures and videos, swipe over to Photos. Tap Add Add icon to add some, or tap More More icon > Refresh to see the latest.
    • To view, change, or add to the room's shared notes, swipe over to Notes. Tap a note to view or edit it, or tap Add Add icon to add a new note.
    • To change the background, tap More More icon, and then tap Choose background.
    • To see social networking feeds for the room members, swipe over to Members, and then tap What's new (you'll see this choice if you're friends with other members on social networks).
Rooms image

Tips

  • To see a room appointment alongside the rest of your calendars, swipe over to Calendar, and then tap More More icon > Show all calendars.
  • Pin the room to Start to see updates and new messages on the Live Tile.

To edit or delete a Room you own

If you're the room owner, you can invite and remove members, rename the room, or delete the room.

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon, and then swipe over to Rooms and Groups.

  2. Tap the room you want to change, and then swipe over to Members.

  3. Do any of the following:

    • To invite a member to the room, tap Members Members icon > Invite Invite icon.
    • To remove a member from the room, tap Members Members icon, tap the contact, and then tap Remove.
    • To choose a new name, tap More More icon > Rename.
    • To delete the room, tap More More icon > Delete room.

To leave a Room

If you're a room member, you can leave the room. It will be removed from your phone.

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon, and then swipe over to Rooms and Groups.

  2. Tap the room you want to leave, and then swipe over to Members.

  3. Tap Leave room, and then tap Leave.

Groups

Use Groups to see social updates from just the folks you add, all in one place. You can also text, email, or IM the whole group at once. Unlike Rooms, Groups only show up on your phone and Microsoft account, and you don't need to invite people to add them.

Your phone comes with a preloaded Best friends group—to get started quickly, go to People People icon > Rooms and Groups, tap Best friends, and then tap Members Members icon to start adding people.

Groups

To create a new Group

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon.

  2. Swipe over to Rooms and Groups, tap New New icon, and then tap Group.

  3. Type a name for your group, then tap Save Save icon.

  4. To add people to the group, tap Add Add icon, and then tap the contact you want to add. When you're finished adding people, tap Done Done icon.

To edit or delete a Group

You can add more members and make other changes to a group.

  1. On Start Start button, tap People People icon.

  2. Swipe over to Rooms and Groups, and then tap the group you want to edit or delete.

  3. Do any of the following:

    • To add more people to the group, tap Members Members icon > Add Add icon.
    • To remove a member from the group, tap Members Members icon, tap the contact you want to remove, and then tap Remove from group.
    • To change the preferred contact information for a member, tap Members Members icon, and then tap the member's name.
    • To pin the group to Start, tap Pin Pin icon.
    • To rename the group, tap More More icon > Rename.
    • To delete a group, tap More More icon > Delete. The contacts within the group won't be affected.

Related topic

Rooms and Groups FAQ

Tell us what you think