Settings + personalisation

Resetting your phone

Resetting your Windows Phone will return it to the state it was in the first time you turned it on. All of your personal content will be erased, and the phone will be restored to its factory settings.

If you decide to reset your phone, you can back up apps, text messages, photos and more to your Microsoft account in the cloud beforehand. To learn more about how this works, see Backing up your stuff.

Warning

Be careful. Resetting your phone will erase all content stored on your phone, including apps and games (along with app data and game progress), text messages, call history, music, photos and more.

Reset warning on Windows Phone

To reset your phone

  1. In the App list, tap Settings Settings icon.

  2. Tap About, then tap Reset your phone.

  3. You'll receive two warnings. If you're absolutely sure you want to restore your phone to its factory settings, tap Yes, then tap Yes again.

    It might take a little while for the process to complete.

Note

If you lose your phone, it's possible to reset it remotely. To learn how, see Finding a lost phone.

Tell us what you think